Wage and Hour Blog
 
Dolley Law LLC

Connecticut

Connecticut Wage and Hour Laws

Attorneys with Dolley Law have many years of experience and knowledge in handing a wide variety of questions and concerns regarding federal and state wage and hour laws nationwide. The extent and depth of our wage and hour practice enables us to provide our clients with the highest quality legal services and advice. If you need legal guidance regarding a wage and hour matter under federal or state law, contact our Firm to learn more and discuss the possibility of legal representation.

Connecticut Minimum Wages

Chapters 557 and 558 contain a variety of rules and requirements applicable to wage and hour issues, including but not limited to payment of minimum wages. Like other states, Connecticut has set the applicable minimum wage on a scale of rates that increase each year for a period of time. See Conn. Gen. Stat. § 31-58(i). As of September 1, 2020, the minimum wage rate in Connecticut is $12.00 per hour. Id. Further, Connecticut wage and hour law adds that the effective minimum wage rate could be even higher if the federal minimum wage rate is increased. See id.

A failure to pay the minimum wage may result in a civil action against an employer. See Conn. Gen. Stat. § 31-68. If an employee prevails in such an action, he or she may be able to recover twice the full amount of such unpaid minimum wages, along with reasonable attorneys’ fees and costs. Id. However, Connecticut wage and hour law provides a possible defense for employers to avoid the doubling of the unpaid minimum wages. If the employer establishes that it had a good faith belief that the underpayment of wages complied with the law, the employee may only recover the amount of unpaid wages. Id.

Connecticut Overtime

Connecticut has its own statutory provisions that address overtime pay and related issues. See Conn. Gen. Stat. § 31-76b, et seq. Connecticut adopts the same 40-hour week overtime standard as the FLSA. See Conn. Gen. Stat. § 31-76c. Connecticut’s rules regarding overtime payments and the potential liabilities resulting from violations also largely mirror the FLSA, but are not necessarily identical.

Meal Breaks

Connecticut has its own wage and hour law regarding meal breaks. See Conn. Gen. Stat. § 31-51ii. It generally provides: “No person shall be required to work for seven and one-half or more consecutive hours without a period of at least thirty consecutive minutes for a meal. Such period shall be given at some time after the first two hours of work and before the last two hours.” This meal break requirement, however, does not apply to all employers or employment situations. The statute delineates the types of circumstances wherein this general rule is either inapplicable or subject to modification.

Equal Pay

Like the FLSA, Connecticut has its own laws that prohibit discrimination on the basis of sex with respect to employee pay. See Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 31-75, 31-76; 29 U.S.C. § 206(d). Employees have a right to bring an individual or collective action to make such a claim, or to refer it to the Connecticut Labor Commissioner for prosecution. Id. A two-year statute of limitations will apply to such a claim, but a three-year statute of limitation can apply if the violation is intentional or the result of reckless indifference. Id.

Contact Us

Our attorneys can help you better understand your legal rights and obligations under federal and state wage and hour laws. If you need legal guidance on these matters, and you are in or around Fairfield, Hartford, New Haven, New London, Litchfield, Middlesex, Tolland or Windham counties, do not hesitate to contact Dolley Law to discuss potential legal representation by calling us at (314) 645-4100 or by emailing us at kevin@dolleylaw.com.