Wyoming Wage and Hour Laws
The Dolley Law wage and hour practice extends across the country. Our attorneys help clients in many different industries understand their wage and hour rights and obligations. With extensive knowledge and experience in wage and hour laws and disputes, we have the resources to provide you high-quality legal advice and services. Contact our Firm today to learn more.
Wyoming Minimum Wage
Wyoming has its own minimum wage statute, which is unique insofar as it provides for a minimum wage rate—that is, $5.15 per hour—below the federal minimum wage rate of $7.25 per hour. See 29 U.S.C. § 207; Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 27-4-202. Given the wide-ranging coverage of the Fair Labor Standards Act (“FLSA”), most—if not all—Wyoming employers should comply with the federal minimum wage rate. See 29 U.S.C. § 203(d), (s).
Wyoming’s minimum wage law with respect to tipped employees largely mirrors the FLSA. See Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 27-4-202(b). Both laws only require an hourly pay rate of $2.13 per hour so long as the employee’s regular rate of pay, when calculated to include tips, meets or exceeds the applicable minimum wage rate. Id.
A failure to pay employees minimum wages may result in the filing of a civil action against the employer. See Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 27-4-204. In such an action, if the employee prevails, the employer will be liable to the employee for payment of the unpaid minimum wages in addition to his or her attorney fees and costs. Id.
Wyoming does not have its own general overtime law; however, it does have an overtime law specific to state and county employees. See Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 27-5-101. This law defines overtime as the hours worked over eight (8) per day or forty (40) per week. Id. But, again, this law is limited to state and county employees and the overtime must be authorized by the appropriate employing governing body. Id.
Wyoming has a wage payment law that requires employers from certain industries (e.g., railroad, mine, refinery or related work in prospecting or production for oil and gas) to pay employees on a semimonthly basis. See Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 27-4-101. Wyoming also has a wage payment statute that provides employees with the right to bring a civil action to recover any allegedly unpaid wages at the end of their employment. See Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 27-4-104. If an employee prevails in such an action, the employee may recover his or her unpaid wages, plus statutory interest at 18%, in addition to reasonable attorneys’ fees and costs. Id.
Our attorneys are ready to help you achieve your goals and protect your interests as they may relate to wage and hour issues. If you are in or around Laramie, Natrona, Campbell, Sweetwater, Fremont, Albany, or Sheridan counties, please feel free to reach out by telephone at (314) 645-4100 or by email at email@example.com to discuss whether our Firm can provide you the legal help you need.